Mom’s Nature Journal

Outdoor-Moms-Journal-@handbookofnaturestudy

I’ve subscribed to the Handbook of Nature Study blog for years now and, while we don’t always follow the monthly theme, I do love getting the emails for ideas to help focus our nature study.  Now that Green Bubbles is in 1st grade, we might start a more intentional nature study with a monthly focus as she sends out.

She encourages Mom’s to also have nature journals.  I LOVE when I’m able to draw and write in my journal but with a toddler and preschool joining us on our nature outings, I rarely have the time to do it.  I noticed I’m a much better artist than I thought I was when I just took the time to try. It’s the time that’s in short supply however 🙂

She started a monthly Mom’s nature journal blog post so I thought it would be interesting to try it out.

During our outdoor time this month we went….

August felt very rushed!  We managed to visit zoos, beaches, and a nature center.  I felt like we were rushing to fit in every last bit of summer we could before September.

The most inspiring thing we experienced was…

For me as a parent, watching how much more independent the baby has gotten in just this last month.  Megatron is now walking most of the way on our short hikes and prefers it!  He doesn’t want to be carried or be put in the baby carrier I have.  While I am loving his growing independence , because it makes it much easier on me, it’s also bittersweet since he is growing up and is more than likely our last baby.

Our outdoor time made us ask (or wonder about)…

This past month I noticed a few new things in our yard that made me do more research.  We watched a June bug burrow under the grass and Green Bubbles wanted to know why.  (They lay their eggs under ground by the way!).  I also noticed a beautiful orange spider in the trees in our side yard and wanted to find out what it was.  (Orb Weaver.)

In the garden, we are planning/planting/harvesting….

We planted a pumpkin seed!  Well, actually 10 of them. Only two sprouted however, and I had to remove one of them because of how close they are together.  So we only ended up with one pumpkin plant.  It’s still very small but the kids are excited to grow their own pumpkins.  I’m not sure it will be before Halloween though!

I added nature journal pages about….

None 😦  I need to draw more in my journal.  It’s been a long time.  Maybe I should find my nature journal first.

A photo I would like to share…

Only one??  How about my picture of the orange spider because I’m rather proud of it. 🙂

IMG_4872

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Nature Journal

  1. If it makes you feel any better I couldn’t find any of our nature journals. Haha. I bought new ones for the girls, but am still hoping to find mine. It has been quite awhile since I have used it….

  2. I really enjoyed reading about your month of nature related activities. It sounds like you took the opportunity to learn some new things that came your way. I love your spider photo! Thank you so much for sharing your link and letting me glimpse your mom’s journal.

Leave a Reply

